Faculty Highlights

Doug Clements, PhD, Director, Marsico Institute, was invited to serve on the inaugural STEM Education Advisory Panel, overseen by the National Science Foundation, the U.S. Department of Education, NASA, and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. The national panel provides advice and information on STEM education research, development, training, implementation, interventions, professional development, and workforce needs. 

William E. Cross, Jr., PhD, Higher Education Emeritus, received the Distinguished Educator of the Year Award from TheEduCtr, a nonprofit dedicated to empowering educators and parents to become advocates for students who are at risk of not completing their education. 

Patton Garriott, PhD, Counseling Psychology, was named the Associate Editor for the Journal of Diversity in Higher Education, a publication of National Association of Diversity Officers in Higher Education. 

Paul Michalec, PhD, Teaching and Learning Sciences, Curriculum and Instruction, Teacher Education Program, received the Hunkins Distinguished Article Award in the area of Curriculum by the American Association of Teaching and Curriculum. 

Christine Nelson, PhD, Higher Education, received the Outstanding Research Award from the Indigenous Peoples Knowledge Community at the annual National Association of Student Affairs Professionals in Higher Education conference. 

Cecilia Orphan, PhD, Higher Education, was elected to serve as a member at-large on the Association for the Study of Higher Education Council on Public Policy in Higher Education.

Stacy Pinto, PhD, Counseling Psychology, received an Excellence in Teaching Award for her presentation, “Merging the Art and Science of Counseling: Portraiture as a Qualitative Method of Inquiry” at the North Atlantic Region Association for Counselor Education and Supervision Conference. 

Garrett Roberts, PhD, Teaching and Learning Sciences, Curriculum and Instruction, was granted an Institute of Education Sciences (IES) National Center for Special Education Research Early Career Development and Mentoring Award. IES supports research that addresses important issues in education and develops solutions to improve school readiness. The grant funding will support the development of a reading intervention for elementary students with or at-risk of reading difficulties and Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder. 

Mary Stansbury, PhD, Research Methods and Information Science, Library and Information Science, was invited to serve as an advisory committee member on the PRISon libraries as Motivators (PRISM) of pro-social behavior and successful re-entry project. The PRISM project grant illuminates the contributions that prison libraries have made to manage offender behavior and prepare individuals for reentry. 

Frank Tuitt, EdD, Higher Education, was recognized by the National Association of Diversity Officers in Higher Education (NADOHE) as a 2019 Inclusive Excellence Award recipient during the annual NADOHE conference. Tuitt received the Individual Leadership Award. 

P. Bruce Uhrmacher, PhD, Teaching and Learning Sciences, Teacher Education Program, Research Methods and Statistics, received the Upton Sinclair Award from Education News. This award recognizes individuals who have made great contributions in education. 

Peter Organisciak, PhD, and Krystyna Matusiak, PhD, Research Methods and Information Science, Library and Information Science, were awarded the iConference 2019 Best Short Research Paper for their co-authored publication, Characterizing Same Work Relations in Large Scale Digital Libraries.

Karen Riley, PhD, Teaching and Learning Sciences, Child, Family, and School Psychology; Jeanine Coleman, PhD, Teaching and Learning Sciences, Early Childhood Special Education; and Devadrita Talapatra, PhD, Teaching and Learning Sciences, Child, Family, and School Psychology, co-authored school service guidelines for Fragile X associated disorders, published by the Fragile X Research and Clinic Consortium. These guidelines are open-access and created as an expert consensus to be easily read and understood by those impacted by Fragile X. 

Copyright © 2018 University of Denver. | All rights reserved. | The University of Denver is an equal opportunity affirmative action institution