Faculty Highlights

William Cross, Jr., PhD, Professor Emeritus, Counseling Psychology, Higher Education, was awarded the 2020 Gold Medal Award for Life Achievement in the Application of Psychology by the American Psychological Foundation. The award recognizes a distinguished career and enduring contribution to advancing the application of psychology through methods, research and/or application of psychological techniques to important practical problems. Cross is recognized as a leading contributor to the discourse on African American identity development; his identity model has found application across a number of ethnic-racial identity communities.

Keren Dali, PhD, Research Methods and Information Science, Library Information Science, was awarded the Norman Horrocks Leadership Award by the Association for Library and Information Science Education (ALISE) at their annual conference in September. First awarded in 2009, the award recognizes a new ALISE member who has demonstrated outstanding leadership qualities in professional ALISE activities. Dali serves as a co-chair of the ALISE 2020 Annual Conference and as a co-organizer of the 2020 ALISE Academy, The Diversity Mindset: A Guiding Principle for Leadership in the Information Fields event.

Denis Dumas, PhD, Research Methods and Information Science, Research Methods and Statistics, was named to the editorial board of the Journal of Educational Psychology, one of the original journals that is dedicated to educational research first published in 1910. The purpose of the Journal of Educational Psychology is to publish original, primary psychological research pertaining to education across all ages and educational levels. The other purpose is for the occasional publication of exceptionally important theoretical and review articles that are pertinent to educational psychology.

Norma Hafenstein, PhD, Daniel L. Ritchie Endowed Chair in Gifted Education, Teaching and Learning Sciences, Curriculum and Instruction, was named to the National Association for Gifted Children Leadership Development Committee. This group, consisting of ten gifted education leaders from across the country, works with the national association in advocating for and serving gifted and talented students from all populations throughout the nation. Hafenstein will serve a three-year term.

Judy Kiyama, PhD, Higher Education, was honored with the 2020 Parent and Family Relations Knowledge Community Outstanding Contribution to Literature Award by the National Association of Student Personnel Administrators (NASPA) at their annual conference. The award is in recognition of her collaborative research with Casandra Harper, PhD, University of Missouri, on parent and family engagement in higher education.

Mike Hoa Nguyen, PhD, Higher Education, was selected as the recipient of the 2020 Outstanding Dissertation Award by the American Educational Research Association (AERA) Research on the Education of Asian and Pacific Americans Special Interest Group (REAPA SIG). This award is given by the AERA REAPA SIG to recognize a scholar whose dissertation has had a significant impact on our understanding of Asian American and/or Pacific Islanders in education.

Cecilia Orphan, PhD, Higher Education, was selected to serve on the Program Committee for the 2020 Association for the Study of Higher Education Annual Conference, a scholarly society with 2,000 members dedicated to higher education as a field of study. It is committed to diversity in its programs and membership, and has enjoyed extraordinary success in involving graduate students in association activities.

Stacy Pinto, PhD, Counseling Psychology, School Counseling, was appointed to the Strategic Planning Committee for the Society for Sexual, Affectional, Intersex, and Gender Expansive Identities (SAIGE), a division of the American Counseling Association. SAIGE is focused on building competence, promoting research, education and mentoring within the counseling field toward providing all LGBTGEQIAP+ individuals with an affirming counseling experience.

Andi Pusavat, Ph.D.Andi Pusavat, PhD, Counseling Psychology, was named to the 9Health Fair Board of Trustees and the 9Health Fair Medical Advisory Committee. Pusavat has been active in supporting the 9Health Fair for many years, bringing students to volunteer and participate in the 9News World Mental Health Day Q&A session live on-air.

Lolita Tabron, PhD, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, was named the 2019 recipient of the Jack A. Culbertson Award, presented by the University Council for Educational Administration, a leading professional organization of higher education institutions focused on advancing the preparation of educational leaders. The Culbertson Award is given to a professor in the first six years of their career in recognition of their significant contributions to the field of educational leadership.

Devadrita Talapatra, PhD, Teaching and Learning Sciences, School Psychology, was presented with a Trainers of School Psychologists (TSP) Presidential Citation for her service to TSP by the National Association of School Psychologists (NASP) at their annual conference. A highly influential group, TSP is the only national organization in school psychology committed to advancing innovation and excellence in graduate training programs for specialist and doctoral school psychologists. Talapatra has been an elected member since 2017.

Copyright © 2018 University of Denver. | All rights reserved. | The University of Denver is an equal opportunity affirmative action institution