Skip to Content

MCE Represented at Annual AERA Conference

Back to Article Listing


Morgridge College of Education

Blog  •

Morgridge College of Education (MCE) had a robust presence at the 2018 Annual Meeting of the American Educational Research Association (AERA) in New York City, April 13-17. More than 50 faculty and students presented papers, and four were recognized for Division and Special Interest Group (SIG) awards. AERA is a national community of education researchers, comprised of 12 divisions and over 155 special interest groups (SIGs).  The Annual Meeting serves as a forum for academic institutions, departments, non-university-based research institutions, and professional associations to share information about federal education research, and engage in shaping policy with regard to significant research issues. This year’s conference theme was “The Dreams, Possibilities, and Necessity of Public Education.”

MCE Award Recipients

  • 2018 AERA Division K Innovations in Research on Equity and Social Justice in Teacher Education Award: Maria Salazar, PhD, Higher Education Faculty
  • 2018 Shelby Wolf Literature SIG Outstanding Dissertation Award: Kimberly McDavid Schmidt, PhD, Assistant Clinical Professor
  • 2018 Leadership for Social Justice SIG Dissertation of the Year Award: Angelina Walker, EdD, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies Graduate
  • 2018 Family, School, and Community Partnerships SIG Dissertation of the Year Award: Kayon Morgan, PhD, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies Graduate


MCE Presenters

Friday April 13:
Erin Anderson
Arthur J. Baroody
Kimberly Chiew
Denis Dumas
Ryan Evely Gildersleeve

Saturday April 14:
Lorna Beckett
Douglas H. Clements
Denis Dumas
Candace Joswick
Judy Marquez Kiyama
Zhengqing Li
Chris A Nelson
Delma M Ramos
Julie Sarama
Lolita A. Tabron

Sunday April 15:
Douglas H. Clements
Denis Dumas
Crystal A Day-Hess
John D Ganzar
Carrie Germeroth
Meseret Hailu
Kristina Astrid Hesbol
Judy Marquez Kiyama
Aleis Pugia
Delma M Ramos
Maria del Carmen Salazar
Julie Sarama
Brenda J Sifuentez
Frank Tuitt

Monday April 16:
Evette L. Allen
Fayaz Amiri
Erin Anderson
Ron DeLyser
Meseret Hailu
Norma L. Hafenstein
Kristina Astrid Hesbol
Valentina Iturbe-LaGrave
Judy Marquez Kiyama
Janet Lear
Justine J. Lopez
Lisa Martinez
Tara Meister
Keisha Kayon Morgan
Samuel D. Museus
Christina Paguyo
Lolita A. Tabron
Rachel E. Taylor
Duan Zhang

Tuesday April 17:
Erin Anderson
Floyd Cobb
Janiece Zalina Mackey
Franklin A. Tuitt