Land Acknowledgement

We would like to acknowledge that the University of Denver resides on land held in stewardship by the Cheyenne and Arapaho tribes. We recognize the descendant communities of the Northern Cheyenne Tribe of Montana, the Northern Arapaho Tribe of Wyoming, and the Southern Cheyenne and Arapaho Tribes of Oklahoma who were forcibly removed from this land.  We also acknowledge the Southern Ute Indian Tribe and the Ute Mountain Ute Tribe, which are the only two federally recognized tribes in Colorado. 

Today, Denver is home to many different citizens of Indigenous nations and we recognize their enduring presence on this land by paying respects to their elders, both past and present. Please take a moment to consider the legacies of violence, displacement, migration, and resettlement that bring us together today and please join us in uncovering such truths at all public events. It is because of the sacrifices and hardships of the traditional Indigenous inhabitants of this land that we are able to be here to learn, collaborate, and share knowledge.


  • Newspaper icon

    The John Evans Report & Recommendations

    This report is the outcome of a yearlong inquiry by the University of Denver John Evans Study Committee, a volunteer group of faculty, outside historians, descendant community representatives, and students and alumni representing the DU Native American community, into the role of the University of Denver’s founder in the Sand Creek Massacre of November 29, 1864. 

    Read The John Evans Report & Recommendations

  • People icon

    DU's Native American and Indigenous Initiatives

    Learn about the University of Denver Native American Community Advisory Board (NACAB), The Native Student Alliance (NSA), the Native American Student Scholarship Fund, and much more.

    Explore DU's Native American and Indigenous Initiatives